This post contains affiliate links. Thank you for your support!

Barn Chronicles series

post written by Emma Filbrun

Barn Chronicles by Rosie BoomTitle: Barn Chronicles series
Author: Rosie Boom
Major Themes: Family Life, Farm Life, Homeschooling, New Zealand
Synopsis: A series of four books which describe the life of a modern “pioneering” family.

This boxed set of four books is among my favorite series to read aloud. Rosie Boom tells her family’s story in The Barn Chronicles. For four years, they lived in a barn on the North Island of New Zealand while they built a house for the family. She has described those years in these four books, mainly through the eyes of her youngest daughter Millie.

As you read these wonderful stories of life on the farm with a homeschooling family of six children, you will enjoy watching the family interact and the children grow up. They had many adventures, some of them sad, others absolutely hilarious to read about. These books will make a beautiful addition to your shelves, too; they are high-quality hardcover books in a beautiful slipcase. They will become heirlooms for your family.

For a detailed review of each book, see its page:

WARNING: See individual pages; the only warnings are for the occasional use of “darn”.

Age Levels:

Read Aloud—Ages 5 – 8, 8 – 12, 10 – 13, Family Read Alouds
Reading Independently—Ages 8 – 12, 10 – 12, 12 – 15


Links to buy Barn Chronicles series:

Amazon: Hardcover (boxed set)

AbeBooks: View Choices on


Family Life, Farm Life, Homeschooling, New Zealand

Write a comment:


Your email address will not be published.

     © 2018 Learning Resource Directory

Follow us: