This post contains affiliate links. Thank you for your support!

Christy Juvenile Fiction Series

post written by Emma Filbrun

Christy Juvenile Fiction Series by Catherine Marshall, adapted by C. ArcherTitle: Christy Juvenile Fiction Series
Author: Catherine Marshall, adapted by C. Archer
Major Themes: Appalachians, Missions
Synopsis: When Christy goes to Cutter Gap, in the heart of the Smoky Mountains in Tennesse, to teach school, she enters a foreign world.

I loved the book Christy, by Catherine Marshall, both when I read it for the first time some 20 years ago and again when I reread it this year. When I came across a series adapted for young readers from the book, it sounded quite interesting. I was able to find the first 9 of the 12 books used. I was very disappointed, though. The juvenile series is a completely different story. I recognized the names of people, and a few minor incidents were the same as in the original book, but otherwise, there isn’t much the same. It’s been very watered down, as well, and made even more dramatic than the original. Maybe my problem is that I expected it to be somewhat the same, and should have just read it as if it is a totally different story.

I did like the way Christy’s love for the mountain people grew. She also grew in her faith through the series. I didn’t like Christy’s constant winking at her friends and joking with them, and I didn’t like the almost-constant romantic allusions. It just got to be too much.

Book 1: The Bridge to Cutter Gap. Christy arrives in Cutter Gap, in the mountains of Tennessee. She has to face a treacherous bridge, helping care for a badly injured man, and her first week of teaching 67 children.

Book 2: Silent Superstitions. Granny O’Teale is certain that Christy is cursed, and spreads fear throughout the whole community.

Book 3: The Angry Intruder. People on the outside donate things for Cutter Gap, including a beautiful stallion and a grand piano. The inhabitants of Cutter Gap, on the other hand, are upset about the changes being made by Miss Christy, an intruder into their community. Will she be able to get to the bottom of the problems?

Book 4: Midnight Rescue. Moonshine and pride cause a near-fatal accident to the Doctor. Can Christy stand up to drunken moonshiners without getting killed?

Book 5: The Proposal. The preacher tries to propose to Christy, but a freak accident stops him. After a terrible accident blinds her, however, she accepts the proposal—but was it for the right reason?

Book 6: Christy’s Choice. Christy has a chance to visit her parents in her old home again, and is offered a teaching position there. Will she take it, and live in luxury again, or return to the poverty of Cutter Gap?

Book 7: The Princess Club. Three of Christy’s students discover gold. Will it make their lives better—or tear the community apart?

Book 8: Family Secrets. A black family moves to Cutter Gap. When the local people threaten them, and the entire community is in danger of being torn to pieces by the fighting, can Christy bring peace?

Book 9: Mountain Madness. The preacher is trying to string a phone line over the mountain, but a mysterious monster is terrorising the people. Christy scoffs at the stories—until she comes face to face with something she can’t explain.

My overall opinion of the series? I’m not going to keep the books, and I can’t really recommend them. There is only a little bad language, but the romance and joking was over the top for me.

WARNING: Book 4, chapter 2: darn. Book 4, chapter 3: dang. Book 4, chapter 9: cursing. Book 4, chapter 9: dang-fool. Book 7, chapter 18: darn. Boy-girl teasing throughout all the books. Christy has two or three men vying for her attention in all the books, and there is kissing a time or two.

Age Levels:

Read Aloud—Ages 8 – 12, 10 – 13
Reading Independently—Ages 8 – 12, 10 – 12, 12 – 15


Links to buy Christy Juvenile Fiction Series:

AbeBooks: View Choices on


This review was written for the first three books in this series. You can buy the individual books here:

Bridge to Cutter Gap/Silent Superstitions/The Angry Intruder, Book 1—

Amazon: Paperback


Midnight Rescue/The Proposal/Christy’s Choice, Book 2—

Amazon: Paperback


The Princess Club/Family Secrets/Mountain Madness, Book 3—

Amazon: Paperback


Appalachians, Missions

Write a comment:


Your email address will not be published.

     © 2018 Learning Resource Directory

Follow us: