This post contains affiliate links. Thank you for your support!

Heart of Courage

post written by Emma Filbrun

Heart of Courage by Lois Walfrid JohnsonTitle: Heart of Courage
Author: Lois Walfrid Johnson
Series: Viking Quest Book #4
Major Themes: Vikings, Norway, Greenland
Synopsis: Mikkel has promised to free Bree if she and Devin accompany him on one trip—will he keep his word?

We are racing through the Viking Quest series faster than we’ve read very many other books. My boys love these stories and are constantly begging me to read more! While not great literature, this series is definitely good clean reading that draws children in. I’m glad I bought this series by Lois Walfrid Johnson without realizing who the author was. Many years ago, I read a book or two by her and was not impressed; apparently her writing style has improved!

As Heart of Courage opens, Bree thinks about her brother Devin. After traveling from their home in Ireland to Norway to ransom Bree, he took their sister and another little girl back to Ireland instead of Bree. He plans to return to Norway to go on a trip with Bree and her captor, Mikkel, who has promised that if the two accompany him on one trip he will free Bree. Will Devin be able to return to Norway in time to accompany them? Will Mikkel keep his promise? Bree knows she needs to have a heart of courage to survive the dangers ahead.

You will be caught up in the action as you read of how the Vikings traveled to Iceland, then on to Greenland to make a bigger profit on their lumber. After they spend the winter with Leif Ericson in Greenland, will Mikkel take Bree back to Ireland—or want to go on farther? Will Mikkel’s new-found faith in Jesus cause him to do what is right, or will he harden his heart again?

I appreciated how Bree and Devin went to prayer when things seemed hard, and tried to do what was right even when it was difficult. There is enough suspense to keep you wanting to read more, but it isn’t over the top.

No warnings!

Age Levels:

Read Aloud—Ages 5 – 8, 8 – 12, Family Read Alouds
Reading Independently—Ages 8 – 12, 10 – 12, 12 – 15


Links to buy Heart of Courage:


Paperback | Kindle


View Choices on


Greenland, Norway, Vikings

Write a comment:


Your email address will not be published.

     © 2018 Learning Resource Directory

Follow us: