This post contains affiliate links. Thank you for your support!

History Lives series

post written by Emma Filbrun

History Lives Series, by Mindy and Brandon WithrowTitle: History Lives series
Author: Mindy and Brandon Withrow
Major Themes: Church History
Synopsis: A set of five books covering the entire history of the Christian church, from the Apostle Paul to Janani Luwum in Uganda in 1977.

I have just finished reading this series to my children as a supplement to our history program. They have really enjoyed listening to the well-written, action-packed stories of famous or obscure Christians from the past 2,000 years. By the time we finished, after reading the series for five months, some of the boys were ready to move on to something else, but most were still enjoying it. I would highly recommend this series for anyone who wants to know more about Christian history. It is not a stand-alone course in history, but a great supplement.

Links to the individual book reviews:

WARNING: A number of the stories describe the suffering and death of people who were martyred for their faith. Parents will want to preread many of the stories if younger children will be reading or listening to these books.

Age Levels:

Read Aloud—Ages 8 – 12, 10 – 13, Family Read Alouds
Reading Independently—Ages 10 – 12, 12 – 15, 15 and Above, Adults


Links to buy the entire History Lives series:




Keywords: Church History

Write a comment:


Your email address will not be published.

     © 2018 Learning Resource Directory

Follow us: