This post contains affiliate links. Thank you for your support!

Mystery of the Silver Coins

post written by Emma Filbrun

Mystery of the Silver Coins by Lois Walfrid JohnsonTitle: Mystery of the Silver Coins
Author: Lois Walfrid Johnson
Series: Viking Quest Book #2
Major Themes: Vikings, Norway, Ireland
Synopsis: Bree manages to escape from the Viking raiders who captured her, but can she stay free and make her way back to Ireland?

We are loving the Viking Quest series. Mystery of the Silver Coins, which begins where the first book, Raiders From the Sea, ended, is mostly about Bree. There are chapters here and there about Devin and his attempt to reach his home in Ireland after being set free from the Viking ship in the first book. However, the main focus is Bree and her friend Lil, who was also a captive. When they have a chance to escape from the Viking ship, they immediately take it. Will they stay free, however, or will they be recaptured?

Along with Bree and Lil trying to find their way back to Ireland, there is a mystery involving a bag of silver coins that the leader of the Vikings had in his sea chest. The same night that the girls escaped, the coins disappeared. Obviously, the girls took them—or did they? And if they didn’t, who did? You will be on the edge of your seat as you read this story!

Throughout the story, Bree tries to trust God, but it is very hard for her at times. Why does God seem to be taking the Viking’s side, when they worship a different god? It doesn’t seem fair. Can she hold on to her faith, even when all seems to be going wrong?

No warnings!

Age Levels:

Read Aloud—Ages 5 – 8, 8 – 12, 10 – 13, Family Read Alouds
Reading Independently—Ages 7 – 9, 8 – 12, 10 – 12


Links to buy Mystery of the Silver Coins:


Paperback | Kindle


View Choices on


Ireland, Norway, Vikings

Write a comment:


Your email address will not be published.

     © 2018 Learning Resource Directory

Follow us: