This post contains affiliate links. Thank you for your support!

Stories From the Growing Years

post written by Emma Filbrun

Stories From the Growing Years by Arleta RichardsonTitle: Stories From the Growing Years
Author: Arleta Richardson
Series: Grandma’s Attic, book 10
Major Themes: Farm Life, Michigan, Pioneer Life
Synopsis: As Mabel and Sarah Jane work together to raise their children, they continue to find themselves in tight spots and funny situations.

We’ve made it through the Grandma’s Attic books now! Every one of my children, from the 17-year-old down to the 6-year-old, loved it. I think the 4-year-old was listening, too, most of the time.

Stories From the Growing Years continues the tale of Mabel’s life as she raises her children. Sarah Jane, of course, is a large part of her life; the two of them wouldn’t be able to get along without each other! Sarah Jane is present the day the green beans blow up and the day their girls come home from a trip to town with their daddies and mysteriously turn bright red when they are given a bath. Sarah Jane is also the one who discovers a little business their daughters have dreamed up—can Len explain the problem with the girls’ theology? They witness the first telephone to be installed in North Branch, a logging town in northern Michigan, and the first electricity to reach the town. Their friends are the same as they were in the previous books—outspoken Augusta, nosy Gladys (who is offended when she overhears gossip and believes it is about her), and clueless Hudson Curtiss who has his hands more than full when he marries the Widow Moore. We loved reading about the problems Mabel and Sarah Jane and their friends found themselves in! Unlike the previous five books, but more like the first four, this one is a fairly unconnected series of stories.

As with the other books, I appreciated the emphasis on living according to Biblical principles. It isn’t always easy, but Mabel strives to always treat others the way she wants to be treated, and return good for evil. As the minister’s wife, she has a particularly important job in the community, and does her best to perform it in a way that is pleasing to the Lord.

No warnings!

Age Levels:

Read Aloud—Ages 5 – 8, 8 – 12, Family Read Alouds
Reading Independently—Ages 7 – 9, 8 – 12, 10 – 12


Links to buy Stories From the Growing Years:

Amazon: Paperback

AbeBooks: View Choices on


Farm Life, Michigan, Pioneer Life

Write a comment:


Your email address will not be published.

     © 2018 Learning Resource Directory

Follow us: