This post contains affiliate links. Thank you for your support!

The Raider’s Promise

post written by Emma Filbrun

The Raider's Promise by Lois Walfrid JohnsonTitle: The Raider’s Promise
Author: Lois Walfrid Johnson
Series: Viking Quest, Book 5
Major Themes: Exploration, Ireland, Leif Ericson, Vikings
Synopsis: Bree and Devin are still with Mikkel as he explores a new world with Leif Ericson.

Nearly five years ago, Mikkel and his Viking crew kidnapped Bree and her brother Devin from their home in Ireland. Devin was set free soon, but Bree was taken to Norway. When Devin brought ransom money, Bree told him to set their younger sister Keely free, instead. Mikkel promised at that time that if Bree and Devin would take one trip with him, he would set Bree free at the end of it. They have spent several years in Greenland with Leif Ericson, and now they are exploring a new land. Every time either Bree or Devin asks Mikkel about his promise, he reminds them that this is still one trip. They are becoming quite frustrated, but what can they do about it?

My boys loved the adventures described in The Raider’s Promise. I enjoyed the portrayal of how Bree, Devin and Mikkel grew to trust each other and the way they learned about forgiveness. We did feel like this last book in the series didn’t move as fast as the first four, and wasn’t nearly as gripping. It is needed to wrap up the loose ends, but it seemed like there was a lot of unnecessary detail included. Basically, we knew what the ending would be, but it took a long time to get there.

No warnings!

Age Levels:

Read Aloud—Ages 5 – 8, 8 – 12, 10 – 13, Family Read Alouds
Reading Independently—Ages 7 – 9, 8 – 12, 10 – 12


Links to buy The Raider’s Promise:

Amazon: Paperback | Kindle

AbeBooks: View Choices on


Exploration, Ireland, Leif Ericson, Vikings

Write a comment:


Your email address will not be published.

     © 2018 Learning Resource Directory

Follow us: